Cultural centre proponents getting space in Comox
The Town of Comox is granting the recently vacated space on the top floor of the old library building (1729 Comox Ave.) to the Pearl Ellis Gallery and the Comox Archives and Museum Society.
In February, both organizations presented their case to council’s committee of the whole to relocate to the top floor of the building. Currently both organizations are located in the bottom floor accessed only from the back of the building, which limits visibility and accessibility.
As stated by Sheila Pollock of the Pearl Ellis Gallery and Barbara Price of the Comox Archives and Museum Society, “This is a great cultural opportunity for Comox, and we look forward to turning the space into a cultural centre that will build community pride.”
Both organizations have agreed to remain open and available to the public for longer hours at the new centre.
The space on the top floor will require very little in the way of renovations.
As stated by Mayor Paul Ives, “We are proud of our local arts and cultural community, and this move will allow us all to better showcase the talents and local history that everybody appreciates.”
— Town of Comox