Denman trustee named to Islands Trust executive committee

A re-elected Islands Trust trustee representing Denman Island was elected Wednesday to the executive committee.

David Graham was one of three vice-chairs selected to assist returning chair Sheila Malcolmson of Gabriola Island.

The Islands Trust executive committee oversees the day-to-day business of the Islands Trust on behalf of the trust council between the quarterly meetings of the entire council, and each of its members are assigned to serve as the chairs of the local trust committees.

Graham will be chair of the Hornby, Gabriola, Gambier and Lasqueti local trust committees. Peter Luckham of Thetis Island will serve in that capacity for Denman.

Re-elected Hornby Island trustee Tony Law was acclaimed with Susan Morrison of Lasqueti to serve on the trust fund board, a land conservancy for Canada’s islands in the Salish Sea, made up of the Strait of Georgia, Juan de Fuca Strait and Puget Sound.

The Islands Trust Council is a federation of local government bodies representing 25,000 people living within the Islands Trust Area. The Islands Trust is responsible for preserving and protecting the unique environment of the Islands Trust Area through planning and regulating land use, development management, education, co-operation with other agencies, and land conservation.

The area covers the islands and waters between the B.C. mainland and southern Vancouver Island, including Howe Sound and as far

north as Comox (excluding Texada Island). The area is approximately 5,200 square kilometres in size and includes 13 major islands and over 450 smaller islands.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event