New board for Comox Valley Econonic Development Society

Ian Whitehead is the new president and Richard Hardy is vice-president of the board of the Comox Valley Economic Development Society. Both are returning members.

Murray Presley becomes past-president, replacing Susan Toresdahl.

Coun. Ken Grant of Comox has taken on the role of secretary-treasurer, formerly occupied by Bronco Moncrief, a former mayor and councillor in Cumberland.

New members of the board include Courtenay Coun. Bill Anglin, Cumberland Mayor Leslie Baird, Justin Rigsby and Don Cameron.

Returning members include Melinda Knox, Jay Oddleifson and Patrick McKenna.

The other returnees are Bruce Jolliffe, Jim Gillis and Edwin Grieve, CVRD directors for Areas A, B and C respectively.

The CVEDS board is comprised of six elected officials from each municipality and regional district area, six elected directors from the private sector and a past-president. The society's mission is to

encourage responsible expansion of the Valley's economic base in order to enhance wealth and employment opportunities.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Blaze at automotive repair shop
B.C. lawyers vote to overturn Christian law school recognition
Family Day boasts flurry of fun across Capital Region
RDN wary of tower, smart meters
Living with juvenile diabetes a constant learning curve
Remembering her smile
Blasting causes headaches for Langford homeowners
Medical marijuana store proposed for Port Moody
ELECTION 2014: The Education Equation or why you should pay attention to school trustee elections

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 30 edition online now. Browse the archives.