The new CVRD board is pictured at its inaugural meeting. From left: Courtenay Mayor Larry Jangula

Jolliffe sworn in as Comox Valley Regional District chair

Courtenay director Manno Theos elected vice-chair

  • Dec. 15, 2014 5:00 a.m.

Scott Stanfield

Record Staff

Bruce Jolliffe is the new chair of the Comox Valley Regional District board, selected by fellow board members at its inaugural meeting Thursday at the Westerly.

The Area A director was chosen over Courtenay director Manno Theos, who was elected vice-chair after a tiebreaker vote against Comox director Ken Grant. Former chair Edwin Grieve — director for Area C — declined a nomination for vice-chair.

This will be the first term at the head of the table for Jolliffe. He and Theos will serve in these positions for the next year.

“This is an honour,” Jolliffe said before a few dozen guests. “I’d like to thank the new board for giving me the opportunity to start us off on our new trip.”

Jolliffe thanked Grieve for his leadership during the previous four years — and noted his family history in the Valley.

“Edwin brought his deep roots to the table. His great, great-grandfather settled in the Valley.”

Jolliffe feels the balance of new and returning board members will result in fresh ideas that provide continuity and stability to the nearly 64,000 residents in the district.

“There will be differences but everybody will learn from these and will build a stronger resolve from that.”

He noted local activity such as construction of the new regional hospital in Courtenay, and the continued struggle to provide opportunities for the younger demographic.

“We have social challenges that are still wanting for a solution,” Jolliffe said. “These issues will play a role in shaping our agenda.

“The Comox Valley is a collection of communities sharing both the Comox Valley identity and our respective community identities. Our job as a board will be to resolve a set of priorities that resonates with our diverse constituents, and their day-to-day and long-term concerns. And over the remaining two years of our terms, to put in place policies to address these identified needs.”

Also sitting on the board are Courtenay Mayor Larry Jangula, Courtenay directors Erik Eriksson and Bob Wells, Comox director Barbara Price, Cumberland director Gwyn Sproule and Area B director Rod Nichol.

Each was sworn into office by government agent Anne Graboski.

The board appointed Jolliffe to the Vancouver Island Regional Library board, with Nichol serving as alternate.

Wells will sit on the North Island 911 Corporation. Nichol is the alternate.


Just Posted

High winds cancel slew of BC Ferries sailings

Travel to and from Victoria and Vancouver as well as Northern Gulf Islands affected

Driftwood Mall hosts Christmas tree silent auction for YANA

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas — at the Driftwood… Continue reading

Single vehicle crash on Old Island Highway sends driver to hospital

A single-vehicle crash just north of Courtenay early Friday morning sent one… Continue reading

Annual Sharing the Christmas Spirit Hamper Program is underway

A fundraising dance will be held for the program next Saturday at the Native Sons Hall.

VIDEO: Rare comic showing Superman’s 1st appearance to be auctioned

The 1938 comic features Superman hoisting a car over his head

Coquihalla closed both directions near Merritt

Detours are available via Hwy. 8 and Hwy. 1

VIDEO: The Last Jedi is going to be the longest ‘Star Wars’ movie yet

Newest movie in the franchise will beat Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones

REPLAY: B.C. this week in video

In case you missed it, here’s a look at replay-worthy highlights from across the province this week.

PHOTOS: Procession and funeral for Const. John Davidson

Thousands attended celebration of life for Abbotsford police officer

B.C. Liberal leadership candidates debate different paths for party

Third debate held Sunday, Nov. 19 at Nanaimo’s Vancouver Island Conference Centre

Apology to Canadians persecuted for being gay coming Nov. 28: Trudeau

Thousands were fired from the military, RCMP and public service because of their sexual orientation

Heavy rains, winds hit B.C.’s south coast

Localized flooding, gusts up to 70 km/hr expected for the Lower Mainland and Vancouver Island

LIVE: BC Liberals kick off leadership debate in Nanaimo

Candidates’ forum is at noon at Vancouver Island Conference Centre

Most Read