BC Hockey announces 2014 championship hosts

cups apr2



BC Hockey announced March 27 that the Abbotsford Pilots will host the 2014 Keystone Cup, Western Canada’s Junior B hockey championship in April 2014.  The Keystone Cup was last hosted in B.C. in 2010 by the Kamloops Storm of the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL).

The 2013 Keystone Cup is scheduled to take place April 18-21 in St. Malo, Man. The B.C. representative team has won three of the last four years; Richmond Sockeyes in 2009, Revelstoke Grizzlies in 2010 and the Abbotsford Pilots in 2012.

The Keystone Cup is a six-team tournament to crown the Western Canadian Junior B champion. League champions from B.C, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Northwest Ontario and the host team will compete for the 2014 championship.

Cyclone Taylor

BC Hockey announced March 28 that the Nelson Leafs will host the 2014 Cyclone Taylor Cup, Junior B Provincial Championship, in April 2014.

The Cyclone Taylor Cup serves as the BC Hockey championship for Junior B hockey. The champions from the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL), the Pacific Junior Hockey League (PJHL) and the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL) along with the host team compete in the tournament.

The 2013 Cyclone Taylor Cup will be hosted by the Comox Valley Glacier Kings in Courtenay from April 11-14.  In the VIJHL championship, Victoria Cougars lead the Comox Valley Glacier Kings 2-0.  The Richmond Sockeyes defeated the Aldergrove Kodiaks to win the PJHL berth the North Okanagan Knights won the first two games against the Castlegar Rebels in the KIJHL finals.  The host Glacier Kings and VIJHL reps Victoria Cougars have already secured their spot in this year's Cyclone Taylor Cup.

Abbotsford Pilots won the 2012 Cyclone Taylor Cup and went on to capture the Western Junior B Championship, the Keystone Cup. The win gave B.C. three of the past four Keystone Cup victories. In 2009 and 2010, the B.C. representatives scooped back-to-back Keystone Cups with the Richmond Sockeyes winning in 2009 and the Revelstoke Grizzlies in 2010.

For more information about BC Hockey, visit the BC Hockey website at or e-mail

– BC Hockey






We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event