After months of painstaking work and a multitude of tender loving care, the Old House building on Riverside Lane is ready to receive Locals Restaurant.
Property owners Dale and Maureen Roberts along with Locals’ owners Ronald and Tricia St. Pierre have partnered with contractor Larry Poirier to bring the 1937 heritage building to life again.
In early May, Locals Restaurant – Food from the Heart of the Island will relocate from Eighth Street and open at 1670 Riverside Lane, neighboring the Old House Village Hotel and Spa.
Locals, Food from the Heart of the Island celebrates quality food production in the Valley. Chef Ronald provides a memorable dining experience. His ever-changing seasonal menus and market sheets set the prevailing standard for the renowned Valley food culture. The wine list has been developed to complement the diverse menu, offering select local wines and B.C., as well as old and new world wines.
“We are thrilled to have this opportunity,” Ronald said. “With Locals Restaurant we have helped the Comox Valley become well known for the incredible food production that exists here. When we opened five years ago, people worried that there was not enough farming and quality food production to dedicate an entire restaurant to eating locally. Now it has become an expectation that restaurants in the area use and recognize regional products. We are excited to now be able to offer our guests an enhanced dining experience in a beautiful setting with a lovely ambiance. The Old House location offers the perfect pairing with Locals’ fine food, wine and service.”
Locals closes Saturday and reopens early-May at the Old House. Lunch and dinner will be offered seven days a week from 11 a.m. – 9 p.m. Brunch will be served on weekends beginning at 9 a.m. Reservations are recommended. Call 250-338-6493.