Comox Valley Airport Commission names new chair

Frank van Gisbergen has been appointed to the position of chair on the Comox Valley Airport Commission's board of directors.

Frank van Gisbergen has been appointed to the position of chair on the Comox Valley Airport Commission’s board of directors.

Frank is a former airline operations specialist and has served as a director of the commission since September 2012. He takes over the position of chair from Linda Oprica, who has held the title since May 2012.

“I thank Linda for her dedication and commitment to the board during her tenure as chair,” said Frank, who will occupy the position for a two-year term. “Linda will continue to serve as a director for CVAC and I look forward to working with her and the other board members to ensure the continued success of our airport for the benefit of our community.”

Frank brings extensive understanding of the travel and aviation industry with him to the position of chair. He has owned a travel agency and held positions with Canadian, Air Canada Jazz and WestJet.

His most recent position saw him involved with special projects for WestJet including the expansion of the airline’s domestic network, as well as the initial entry into the United States. His varied career has provided him with experience as a travel agent and in airline sales, customer service, training and operations — including logistics, cargo and ground handling.

In addition to Frank’s appointment, CVAC also announced Thursday the following changes:

• Director Keith Tatton has been appointed treasurer.  Keith has been on the Board since July 2013 and he is the owner of Cumberland Ready Mix.  He has served on the boards of several business and industry organizations including: Comox Valley Chamber of Commerce, North Vancouver Island Construction Association, Vancouver Island Construction Association and B.C. Construction Association.

• The role of secretary will be served by Susan Toresdahl. Susan has been on the board since September 2012 and is the former executive director of the North Island College Foundation and past president of the Comox Valley Economic Development board.

The Comox Valley Airport Commission is the governing authority for the operation of the Comox Valley Airport.

The nine-member commission is broadly representative of the Comox Valley community and its members are nominated by the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox, the Village of Cumberland, the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD), the Comox Valley Chamber of Commerce and the Comox Valley Economic Development Society (CVEDS).

CVAC is a federally incorporated, non-profit entity. It was established through letters patent in 1996.

— Comox Valley Airport Commission