Craig leads men, Deputan leads women at B.C. seniors curling

Championships continue at Comox Valley Curling Centre through to Saturday afternoon finals


Wes Craig (Victoria) remains undefeated at 5-0 and tops the standings in the men’s division of the Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships, being held this week at the Comox Valley Curling Centre.

Tied for second with 3-2 records are Craig Lepine (Peace Arch), Larry Macdonald (Langley) and Dean Thulin (Campbell River). Ron Vanderstar (Smithers) and Ken Watson (Vancouver) are next at 2-3 while Garry Gelowitz (Kelowna) and Ken McHargue (Elkford) are both 1-4.

On the women’s side, Lisa Deputan (Chilliwack) is in first place at 4-1 while Penny Shantz (Parksville) remains the only undefeated team at 4-0.

Lil Blashko (Summerland) is 2-3, Gwen Clark (Langley) is 2-2, Heather Nichol (Castlegar) is 2-3, Kathy Smiley (Royal City) and Katie Witt (Nanaimo) are both 2-2 while Joanne Kern (Tsawwassen) is 0-5.

Competition continues Thursday and Friday with draws at 9:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. each day.

The finals are Saturday, Feb. 22 at 2 p.m. The closing ceremonies with the medals and trophy presentations will follow the finals.