‘Genera’ Jeff May leads the charge at Saratoga Speedway

car racing

'GENERAL' JEFF MAY (car #01) had a good night of racing at Saratoga Speedway on Saturday.

'GENERAL' JEFF MAY (car #01) had a good night of racing at Saratoga Speedway on Saturday.




Terry Guest

Special to the Record

“The General” was in command Saturday night at Saratoga Speedway.

Behind the wheel of car #01, “The General” Jeff May picked up his first main event win in the Crash to Pass division. He started his night by setting fast time of 18.898 in qualifying.

May competed hard in the dash, but #2 Glenn Pinto held him off. Pinto took an early lead in the eight-lap heat, but soon Pinto would come face to face with him. May eventually spun out Pinto and took the lead and the win in the only Crash to Pass heat of the night.

The 20-lap feature saw May take the lead on the first lap and spread it five car lengths. A popcorn yellow on lap nine gave #11 Dan Kemp the lead and put May to the back. May battled his way back, re-taking the lead on lap 14 and never looking back. Pinto was second and Kemp third.

In the Roadrunner class, #28 Andrew Buchanan once again set fast time in qualifying with a 19.414 lap. Buchanan has set fast time in every qualifying session this season.

Buchanan’s streak of winning dashes ended on Saturday as #19 Weston Lane picked up the win. Car #25 driven by Andrea Cannon led the eight-lap heat for all but one lap as Buchanan took the checkers on the final lap.

Cannon once again started a lap ahead of the field, meaning that the rest of the field would have to make up a full lap to catch her. She led eight laps until Buchanan took over and went on to win the main. Lane was second and Cannon third.

Thirty Hornet cars qualified on Saturday, with fast time of 18.149 set by #21 Gord Fraser. The C dash went to #05 Trevor Cannon, which marked his first-ever win at Saratoga Speedway. The B dash went to #08 Daryn Cahill and the A to #01 Kevin Lawrenuk.

Car #17 Brad Dimitrov led the C heat for seven laps until #15 Lane Pearson took over en route to the win.  Car #84 Jake Townsend won his first race of the season, capturing the B heat.

Car #07 Brandon Philips led all but one lap to take his first the A heat win of the year. Pearson battled his way from the very back to take the win in the C invert heat.

Car #76 Bob Fraser led the B invert heat for four laps until #57 James Buchanan took over and never looked back. This was Buchanan’s first win of the season.

Car #20 William Boyes started on the pole in the A invert heat and held off the field to take the win. The 25-lap B feature saw #17 Brad Dimitrov get out to an early lead. He held it for 21 laps until #84 Jake Townsend passed him.

An altercation on lap 22 caused #33 Tristin Gait to be black flagged, also taking out #42 Jordan Phillips. Townsend went on to win with Dimitrov second and car #03 Duane Lawrenuk (filling in for his daughter Jennifer) third.

The 30-lap A feature saw #09 Cameron Philips take the lead on lap one. Phillips led for 17 laps until #02 Daryl Cahill took over. Cahill stretched out his lead from there and took his second main event win of the year. Car #21 Gord Fraser finished second and #08 Daryn Cahill finished third.




EXTRA LAPS This week marks the first appearance of the Wilroc Sprint cars and the Wilroc Lite cars … the Old Time Modified Stock Cars have also been added onto the schedule. and the IMCA Modifieds will fill out the racing card … the speedway’s 30th anniversary is quickly with an amazing night of fireworks, shows from the Jet Dragster and the Limo Jump, and great racing from the Dwarf cars, Bomber cars and the IMCA Modifieds in the spoltlight on July 2 …






We are experiencing technical difficulties with our commenting platform and hope to be up and running again soon. In the meantime, you can still send us your thoughts on Facebook or Twitter, or submit a letter to the editor.