THE MOTORCYCLES MADE their season debut at Saratoga Speedway on Saturday.

THE MOTORCYCLES MADE their season debut at Saratoga Speedway on Saturday.

Busy night of racing at Saratoga

Speedway spectators catch season debut of motorcycles and drift cars

Terry Guest

Special to the Record

The first of five drifting competitions took place at Saratoga Speedway on Saturday. Nine drift cars, varying in different drifting styles, made made for some great drifting throughout the night.

The motorcycles made their first appearance of the year, sporting a new track. In previous years they would go around the track averaging 20-25 seconds, now they are using the dirt jumps located on turn four, making for an MX style of racing.

#6 Joel Forth and #86 Brad Taddeo battled hard in the 10-lap main event, with Forth taking the lead on the last lap and not looking back.

Three different winners were declared for three different races in the I.M.C.A Modified division. #44 Tim Openshaw took the dash, #89 Gregg Sagmoen took the eight-lap heat, and #92 Dano Bryant, who had been struggling all night, found his way in the main, holding off Openshaw to win their 20-lap feature.

Eleven cars took to the track in the Bomber car division. #77 Travis Stevenson won the B heat, with the A going to #97 Mike Dionne. Last year’s Bomber car champion, #72 Stewart Lee, continued his winning ways in the main event, taking the lead on lap 31 of 40 from Stevenson, and winning his first Brian Sullivan Memorial race.

In the drifting division, #19 Hayden Barnes and #26 Alex Davidson out-drifted the rest of the field to get themselves to the final drift off. Barnes and Davidson were matching each other drift for drift, but Barnes edged out Davidson to win the first round of the drifting competition.

EXTRA LAPS The Crash to Pass, Hornets, Roadrunners and Figure 8s are all on the card this Saturday … going into the night, #12 Raymond Fortier holds a 65-point lead over second-place #81 Jeremy Stormo, who is on a two main event winning streak in the Hornet B class … in the Hornet A class, #01 Kevin Lawrenuk holds a 74-point lead over second-place #14 Kyle Fallowfield … #01 Jeff May holds a 69-point lead over his cousin #02 Matt May in the Crash to Pass division … #17 Dan Kemp holds a 131-point lead over #66 Nick Leavitt in the Roadrunner division …


– Saratoga Speedway