Skip to content

Local rinks do well at men's bonspiel

Veary quartet from Campbell River takes top spot in A event
THE A EVENT winners were the Tom Veary rink of Campbell River with skip Tom Veary

The Comox Valley Curling Club held its Men's Open Bonspiel last weekend. Thirty-two teams entered the event, 13 of which were from out-of-town. "From all reports, a great time was had by all competitors both on and off the ice," an event spokesperson said.

Sunday's finals featured four outstanding games with each one either going to an extra end or coming down to the last rock. In the A final, the local Ron Schmidt team battled hard with the Tom Veary skipped team from Campbell River. After the last rock had been thrown, wily veteran Veary and his rink with third Ron Reynolds, second Kevin John and lead Bruce Manson prevailed over the Schmidt rink (Norm Cote, Don Pennell and Jade Jensen). Finishing third was the Randy Veitch rink with the Dean Thulin rink finishing fouth.

In the B final, local curler Mike Imrie and his team of  third Mike Meeres, second Bruce Taylor and lead Paul Otto out out-duelled another local team skipped by Craig Bernes (third Shawn Holland, second Roy Longman and lead Dave Robbins). "This was an excellent game which again came down to the final stones before a victor could be declared," the spokesperson said. Finishing third was the Hodgson rink with the Brian Gisel rink placing fourth.

The C Final was won by another local curler and club/ice manager Brent Aitken. Andy Quant was skipping the team with Brent playing third, Rick McCaughan second and ice assistant Roy Semenchuk lead. The local knowledge of the ice proved too much for their opposition, the Tony Pisto rink with third Fraser Irwin, second Tyler Dyck and lead Josh Pisto. Finishing third was the Hungar rink with the Williams rink fourth.

The most exciting game to watch was the D final which once again featured two local teams. The Rod May team battled hard for supremacy against the Eric Tanguay team with the game going to an extra end.

It wasn't decided until the last rock where May threw a picture perfect  'draw  to the button' to claim the win by a mere inch or so. Curling with May were third Rob Dale, second Stu Larson and lead Gerry Hannem. The Tanguay rink featured a father/son combination with son Eric skipping the team with dad Richard at third, Evan Weber at second and Sam Bender in the lead position.

"Congratulations to all the winning teams and for their support of this bonspiel," said the spokesperson.

"The curling club is indebted to our four sponsors, Ron Schmidt of Assante Wealth Management; Paul Paquette of Little City Signs; Rick Thomson of Colonial Countertops; and Tony Pisto of Scotia McLeod whose support is greatly appreciated. Thanks, also to Mark Joneson and his kitchen staff for a great Saturday night meal as well as their food and service throughout the weekend. The club looks forward to having everyone back for next year's bonspiel."

– Comox Valley Curling Club